Lünale 2023 – Winner of the Medium-Sized Business Prize

On the 10th November 2023 – for the 14th time already – the Lünale took place. In the Castanea Forum in Adendorf on this evening, the Lüneburg Business Prizes were awarded in front of approximately 400 guests. In the context of a celebratory gala, the prize winners were honoured. The greetings from the Economics Minister of Lower Saxony, Olaf Lies, as well as those from our district administrator, Jens Böther, clearly illustrated which importance the Lünale has, even beyond the reaches of the region.

The DE-VAU-GE Gesundkostwerk Deutschland GmbH received the Medium-Sized Business Prize 2023! As representative for the Makowski family, Dr. Rüdiger Kühl accepted the prize.

The evening was rounded off with wonderfully selected musical performance that highlighted young talent, as well as an emotionally touching segment about the war on Ukraine.

Extract from the Laudatio by Lutz Lehmann-Bergholz (modified in translation):

The history of the DE-VAU-GE Gesundkostwerk Deutschland GmbH reaches back to the 19th century, when it was founded as the German Association for Health Care in Friedensau near Magdeburg. The steady growth of the company demanded a move to a location with room for future development. After stations in Hamburg, the DE-VAU-GE moved to Lüneburg in 1976. In the industrial area “Lüner Rennbahn” it still has its headquarters today.

Since 2013, the DE-VAU-GE Gesundkostwerk Deutschland GmbH is a family business with plants in the hanseatic city Lüneburg, as well as Tangermünde. Presently, over 900 employees contribute at both locations to a revenue of about 320 million euros annually. The product range includes breakfast cereals, bars, and plant-based drinks. The DE-VAU-GE is an important employer and training company in as well as a retail supplier for our region.

For the jury of the Medium-Sized Business Prize, that is funded by the economics forum Lüneburg e.V., the change to a family business while maintaining the production plants and jobs were important criteria for the award.

fltr. Rafael Pappert, Dr. Rüdiger Kühl, Olaf Lies, Lutz Lehmann-Bergholz